Asian Beat 2013

Asian Beat Grand Final 2013 Held in Indonesia

Band Leaders @ Press Conference

Yamaha held “Asian Beat Grand Final 2013”, the annual band contest for amateur musicians, at the Nusa Indah Theater in Jakarta on November 10th, 2013. 10 bands selected from among 1,000 bands participating from Hong Kong, Korea, Malaysia, Mongolia, Russia, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, and Indonesia, carried out unique performances which fascinated the audience of over 800 people.

After the screening by 5 judges, the Grand Prize was awarded to ROWDY GENTLEMEN from Malaysia for their high-level performance both as individuals and as a band. Russia, participating for the first time this year, won the 2nd Prize, and Korea won the 3rd Prize.

Grand Prize - Malaysia

2nd Prize - Russia

3rd Prize - Korea

Mr. Kozo Suganuma

There were guest performances by professional drummer Kozo Suganuma and UNGU, a local favorite band, which lifted the crowd. Also, the exhibition space in front of the venue was filled with many people trying out the displayed instruments.

Details on the result are as follows:

Group Awards

  Country / Region Band Name
Grand Prize Malaysia ROWDY GENTLEMEN
3rd Prize Korea STARTLINE

Individual Awards

  Country / Region Name
Best Vocalist Mongolia Mr. Belguun Boldbaatar
Best Drummer Korea Mr. Geon Choi
Best Guitarist Malaysia Mr. Joshua Thamboo Ponnudorai
Best Bassist Malaysia Mr. Kevin Adrian Theseira
Best Keyboardist HongKong Mr. Tik Hong Wong

About Asian Beat

Asian Beat is one of the biggest amateur band contests held throughout many regions in Asia. It starts out from Area Heat in participating countries and regions. Each winner at Area Heat finals can proceed onto the Grand Final, where they will perform together on the same stage and compete to be the top of amateur bands in Asia.
Yamaha Corporation started this event as "Band Alert" in 1998, renamed to "Asian Beat" in 2001. In the past years, worldwide famous players were the judges such as Nathan East, Wes Borland, Tommy Aldridge, Sonny Emory, Billy Sheehan, James LoMenzo and Akira Jimbo.